WERTHERS LOTTE

A play with music by Benjamin Truong and Nina Wiener, based on «The Sufferings of Young Werther» (Die Leiden des jungen Werthers) by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and «The Sufferings of the Young Woman Wertherinn», an anonymous essay written in 1775.

 
 

Lotte is standing in her attic. A long time has passed, since Werther and she… but actually she’d rather not think about it. And still – Lotte starts looking for Werther’s letters and begins to read them. Immediately she is caught up by memories both painful and beautiful and they become real. Her voice falters, but she continues telling her story, her body expressing what language cannot. 

«The Sufferings of Young Werther» is told from a male perspective, just like many classic stories. Werther finds his «objet d’amour» in Lotte, and uses her as a projection for his longings, formulating them in his many letters. In WERTHERS LOTTE it is Lotte herself, who tells her own version of their story, which allows her more space to remember her past in her own words.  

WERTHERS LOTTE is the first common project of the young theater professionals Benjamin Truong and Nina Wiener. Together they explore the limits between music, movement and language, searching for expression far from the usual conventions of these categories. 


With Regina Speiseder, Anna Hirsch (synth, vocal), Alvin Schwaar (keys), Giovanni Vicari (guitar)

Director Benjamin Truong
Edition, Dramaturgy Nina Wiener
Stage Design Lugh Wittig
Costumes Noemi Szalay
Graphic Noé Herrmann
Advice Thom Luz
Production Management Ramun Bernetta

Language German
Duration 80 Min

UA/Premiere 12. Oktober 2018 Vorstadttheater Basel

With the Support of
Fachausschuss Theater und Tanz BS/BL, Ernst Göhner Stiftung


DOWNLOADS


UPCOMING EVENTS

PAST EVENTS

12.10.2018 - Vorstadttheater Basel

13.10.2018 - Vorstadttheater Basel

29.03.2019 - Vorstadttheater Basel

30.03.2019 - Vorstadttheater Basel

WERTHERS LOTTE

Ein Theaterstück mit Musik von Benjamin Truong und Nina Wiener nach «Die Leiden des jungen Werthers» von Johann Wolfgang von Goethe und «Die Leiden der jungen Wertherinn», einer anonymen Schrift aus dem Jahr 1775

ab 12 Jahren

 
 

Lotte steht auf ihrem Dachboden. Viel Zeit ist vergangen, seit sie Werther das letzte Mal… aber darüber möchte sie eigentlich gar nicht nachdenken. Und doch: Lotte findet Werthers Briefe und fängt an zu lesen. Schnell holen sie die schmerzhaft-schönen Erinnerungen ein und werden zur Realität. Ihre Stimme stockt, doch Lotte erzählt weiter – der Körper drückt aus, was sich der Sprache entsagt.

Die «Leiden des jungen Werthers» wird, wie viele klassische Stoffe, aus einer männlichen Perspektive erzählt. Werther findet in Lotte sein objet d’amour, und benutzt ihre Person als Projektionsfläche für seine Sehnsüchte, die er in seinen vielen Briefen formuliert. In Werthers Lotte wird Lotte nach ihrer Version der Geschichte befragt. Sie erhält Raum, sich auf ihre Weise an die Vergangenheit zu erinnern.

Werthers Lotte ist das erste gemeinsame Projekt der jungen Theaterschaffenden Benjamin Truong und Nina Wiener. Gemeinsam loten sie die Grenzen zwischen Musik, Bewegung und Sprache aus, und begeben sich auf die Suche nach Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten jenseits der üblichen Spartenkonventionen.


Mit Regina Speiseder, Anna Hirsch (synth, vocal), Alvin Schwaar (keys), Giovanni Vicari (guitar)

Regie Benjamin Truong
Fassung, Dramaturgie Nina Wiener
Bühne Lugh Wittig
Kostüm Noemi Szalay
Grafik Noé Herrmann
Produktionsleitung Ramun Bernetta
Beratung Thom Luz

Sprache Deutsch
Dauer 

UA/Premiere 12. Oktober 2018 Vorstadttheater Basel

Unterstützt durch
Fachausschuss Theater und Tanz BS/BL, Ernst Göhner Stiftung


DOWNLOADS

 
 

NÄCHSTE AUFFÜHRUNGEN

VERGANGENE AUFFÜHRUNGEN